McCloskey penalized for caddie blunder

McCloskey penalized for caddie blunder


McCloskey penalized for caddie blunder

U.S. Women’s Open coverage | Twitter: @Golfweek_Baldry, @GolfweekSMartin

OAKMONT, Pa. – Lisa McCloskey walked out of the scoring area in tears, her day marred by a trip to the bathroom she didn’t even take. The 18-year-old, playing in her first U.S. Women’s Open, was in contention at 2 over midway through her second round. On the first tee (her 10th hole), a rules official informed her she had received a two-stroke penalty on the 16th hole because her caddie rode to the bathroom in a golf cart. 


“This course is already hard, so to have two strokes that you didn’t even make yourself – it’s sickening,” said McCloskey, who proceeded to double the first hole and bogey the second after hearing the news.

McCloskey didn’t even notice her looper, a local caddie, ride off with a man he thought was a USGA official. Her playing partner, Michele Redman, informed the college junior of the rules infraction. Things got heated in the scoring area between both parties when the ruling was discussed. 

“She learned a tough lesson,” Redman said.

McCloskey birdied the last hole (No. 9) to finish 8 over, still in the running for low-amateur honors. Redman missed the cut after an 82. 

“This has already happened to me once,” said McCloskey, who received a penalty in high school at the Texas state tournament when her coach told her to hop on a cart en route to the bathroom to speed up play.

“I knew the rule,” she said. “I just had no idea where (my caddie) was.”


More Golfweek