Pair of penalties end Calc’s Open chances

Pair of penalties end Calc’s Open chances


Pair of penalties end Calc’s Open chances

Complete coverage | British Open blog | Follow via Twitter: @4caddie, @GolfweekMag

ST. ANDREWS, Scotland – When Mark Calcavecchia made a 9 at the par-5 fifth hole, his chances of winning the Open Championship for a second time were done like the proverbial Christmas goose.

Understandably, Calcavecchia was unwilling to relive the experience, but his caddie/wife Brenda did.

Calcavecchia opened the hole by hitting his tee shot into the bunker before knocking his second shot back into the fairway. His third shot went so far right that he hit a provisional, which landed in the fairway.

This is where it turns a little murky. As Calcavecchia walked up to his provisional ball, officials said they found his original.

“I swear, it was one of those things, I’m like, ‘Don’t touch it until we really see it,’ ” Brenda said after the round. “He picked it up and when we went over there they’re all over in this bush and I say, ‘Do you guys have the ball?’ It wasn’t his.”

Calcavecchia incurred a penalty for both the lost ball and lifting his provisional in the fairway without the authority to do so (Rule 18-2a). He did not know exactly where his provisional ball had been before he lifted it, so he dropped as near as possible to the estimated point without penalty, under Rule 20-3c.

That meant Calcavecchia was laying six hitting into the green. He then two-putted for the quadruple bogey.

‘Really bad luck,” Brenda said.



More Golfweek