100th South African Open back to Durban

100th South African Open back to Durban


100th South African Open back to Durban

The world’s second-oldest championship is coming back to South Africa’s KwaZulu-Natal coast.

The South African Golf Association recently confirmed the Durban Country Club will host the 100th anniversary of the South African Open Championship on Dec. 16-19, 2010.

Durban Country Club is no stranger to the world’s top golfers, having hosted the South African Open 16 times – more than any other venue. Gary Player, Bobby Locke, Ernie Els, Tim Clark, Tony Johnstone, Wayne Westner and Bobby Cole are among the list of past SA Open champions who won the title at the historic venue.

Durban was shaped from the bush and dunes of the Indian Ocean coast in the early 1920s by course designers Laurie Waters and George Waterman, who apprenticed under Old Tom Morris before immigrating to South Africa in the early 1900s.

As a golf pro, Waterman made a name for himself by winning four SA Opens, as well as having introduced grass greens to South Africa at Royal Johannesburg in 1910. Among his defining characteristics at Durban are the massive undulations in the fairways.

Last year, Scotland’s Richie Ramsay defeated Shiv Kapur of India in a playoff at Pearl Valley Golf Estates for his first European Tour win. Ramsay, the 2006 U.S. Amateur champion, became just the seventh foreigner and first Scotsman to win the title.


More Golfweek