2011 PGA Championship at a glance

2011 PGA Championship at a glance


2011 PGA Championship at a glance

Play our fantasy game now!

Show off your knowledge! Play our final Major Challenge of the year, matching wits with golf enthusiasts from around the world to see who can win 2012 PGA Championship tickets, games from EA Sports or equipment from SeeMore Putters, Scratch Golf, Fujikura and KBS. Play now!


JOHNS CREEK, Ga. — Facts and figures for the PGA Championship:

Event: 93rd PGA Championship

Dates: Aug. 11-14

Site: Atlanta Athletic Club (Highlands)

Length: 7,467 yards

Par: 35-35_70

Field: 156 players (136 tour pros, 20 club pros)

Prize money: TBA ($7.5 million in 2010)

Winner’s share: TBA ($1.35 million in 2010)

Defending champion: Martin Kaymer

Last year: Kaymer closed with a 70 at Whistling Straits and won a three-hole playoff when Bubba Watson hit into a water hazard on the final hole and made double bogey. Dustin Johnson thought he would be part of the playoff until he was assessed a two-stroke penalty after his round for touching the sand with his club on the 18th hole, not realizing he was in a bunker.

Last time at Atlanta Athletic Club: David Toms had a one-shot lead on the par-4 18th in 2001 when he laid up instead of trying to take on the water, then hit sand wedge to 12 feet and made par to beat Phil Mickelson. Toms closed with a 69 and set the major championship scoring record at 265.

Major champions at Atlanta Athletic Club: Jerry Pate (1976 U.S. Open), Larry Nelson (1981 PGA), David Toms 2001 PGA).

Return of the Tiger: Tiger Woods will play in the final major of the year after sitting out the last two majors to let injuries to his left leg fully heal. Ten years ago in the PGA Championship at Atlanta Athletic Club, he had to rally to make the cut and tied for 29th.

Key statistic: Since the world ranking began in 1986, the PGA Championship has had only nine champions who were among the top 10, the fewest of any major.

Noteworthy: American players, 0 for 3 in majors this year, have won at least one major every year since 1994.

Quoteworthy: “There used to be only Tiger and Phil, No. 1 and 2, for many, many, many years. And now it’s changing.” — Martin Kaymer.

Television (all times EDT): Thursday and Friday, 1 p.m. to 7 p.m., TNT Sports. Saturday, 11 a.m. to 2 p.m., TNT Sports; 2 p.m. to 7 p.m. CBS Sports. Sunday, 11 a.m. to 2 p.m., TNT Sports; 2 p.m. to 7 p.m., CBS Sports.


More Golfweek