One would’ve assumed the most eventful part of Joel Dahmen’s weekend was playing his third round at the Quicken Loans National with Tiger Woods.
Surprisingly, that may not be the case.
Dahmen, 30, was asked on Twitter late Sunday what happened on the 10th hole in the final round, as a group played through he and Sung Kang.
If you were expecting no response or a wishy-washy one, well…
Oh wow! That is a bold statement. Publicly referring to another golfer as having “cheated” or as a “cheater” is rare in competitive golf, partly due to how much damage such an accusation can do to a competitor’s reputation.
So for Dahmen to say this must mean he thinks Kang, 31, really crossed a line.
When Dahmen was asked to elaborate on what exactly that situation (involving a drop for Kang after a wayward second shot at the par-5 10th) was, he did so:
This is definitely commentary you don’t often see. But it’s certainly important!
Kang, who has made 136 starts on the PGA Tour with a best finish of runner-up, went on to par that hole and play his final eight in 3 under to close in 64 and finish third at 12 under. If somebody thought he bent the rules on his way to that high showing, that’s kind of important.
Monday, Kang issued a statement through the PGA Tour communications department: “He is standing by the ruling that was made by PGA Tour Rules officials on Sunday and will have no further comment, other than he is looking forward to focusing on finishing out the season strong, and he is excited about the opportunity to play in the Open Championship again in a few weeks.”
Dahmen has made 37 of his 38 career PGA Tour starts in the last two years.
The PGA Tour also issued the following statement on the matter:
“During Sunday’s final round of the 2018 Quicken Loans National, there was a discussion between fellow competitors Sung Kang and Joel Dahmen as to where Kang’s second shot crossed the margin of the lateral hazard at the par-5 10th hole before ultimately coming to rest in the hazard.
“A PGA Tour Rules Official handled the ruling, interviewing both players, caddies and marshals in the vicinity. The official then took Kang back to where he hit his second shot, and Kang confirmed his original belief that his shot had indeed crossed the margin of the hazard. With no clear evidence to prove otherwise, it was determined by the official that Kang could proceed with his fourth shot as intended, following a penalty stroke and subsequent drop. The PGA Tour will have no additional comment on this matter.”