1. Dustin Johnson, 2016 U.S. Open
When Johnson’s ball moved on the fifth hole while he addressed a putt, he backed off and informed a rules official that he didn’t cause the ball to move. He was initially cleared of any wrongdoing, but on the 12th tee box, he was informed of a possible infraction and his score was eventually changed from a par 4 to a bogey 5. It was total chaos as neither players nor fans knew for certain how the potential ruling would impact the leaderboard. It was not the USGA’s finest hour. Nevertheless, Johnson still won at Oakmont.